Georgia holds the number four spot for licensed drivers in the country—with nearly seven million drivers on the road. With more drivers, comes more traffic and an increased opportunity for automobile accidents. These seven million licensed drivers are required by state law to carry auto insurance to cover the expense of car repairs as well as medical treatment if it’s needed.
What is No-Fault Insurance?
Insurance laws vary depending on which state that you live in, and states can be considered a “no-fault” state—meaning that if a driver gets into an accident, their insurance company will cover their medical expenses automatically and blame is not assigned for the accident—or an “at fault” state—meaning that if there is a car accident, someone in the incident will get assigned blame and that person and their insurance company are responsible for all damages to all other parties.
So, which kind of state is Georgia, and how does that affect you or a loved one who has been in a car accident?
Georgia is an At-Fault State
Georgia, like most other states in the U.S., is an at-fault state. This means that if there is an accident, the driver who caused it (and their insurance company) will be responsible for all damages such as medical expenses and vehicle damage.
Georgia has a specific type of at fault, which is known as “proportional comparative fault.” What this means, essentially, is that each driver involved in the accident has a percentage of the blame. For example, if one driver failed to put on their turn signal when making a right-hand turn, but the other driver was speeding, then they would both have a percentage of fault.
If it’s determined that a driver is more than 50 percent at fault for causing the crash, then they are unable to seek any compensation. Unclear. It maybe should read “If it is determined that you are more than 50 percent at fault for causing the crash….”
Hire an Attorney to Help Prove Fault
If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident, you might be entitled to compensation for medical bills, car damage, or lost wages. A skilled attorney can help determine the fault of the other driver by examining the evidence of the crash, interpreting state laws, and representing you in court so that you can seek the compensation you deserve.
Don’t wait another minute to seek out a personal injury lawyer who is determined and who understands your rights.
Contact the Fry | Goehring today or call at (404) 948-3571 to set up a consultation.